You are here

I Don't Have Any Homework....

BarkAtTheMoon's picture

Second term for SD13 starts tomorrow. She ended up with all A's and a B for the first term. One grade may fall to a B because not all of the assignments are posted, but still she lucked out.

I know we have posted about it before, but good gosh schools make it so damn easy for these kids these days!! I graduated in '87 and worked my ass off. I took Latin and French at the same time, excelled in math and blew the curve for some people in a few classes. It wasn't easy. I can't even fathom SD13 taking a language. She can barely spell English.

For the first 1-1/2 years that SD13 was FT with us, I was on her like white on rice every day after school to get her homework done. Let me just say, her work was simple!! A few math problems, a crossword puzzle or two.....I mean seriously? No wonder these kids aren't prepared for the real world, or even for college. SD13 is in 8th grade and they started SBG (Standards Based Grading) this year as a trial-run in her school. She's not the sharpest tool in the shed and she NEVER has homework. They don't give them any. I think the schools look better as a whole county-wide if their students are "doing well," so they tend to pass most students with sub-par performance.

Well, it's all relative. SD13 just plays every day like a 7yo when she gets home and retains absolutely nothing from her classes. But that's ok boys and girls, because if you forget to hand in your essay or even if you bomb a test, you get a DO-OVER!

Yaaaaaaaayyyyyy!! SD13 will be SO prepared for HS next year. Can't wait for the drama. Is it bad that I want her to have her ass handed to her this term so that she shapes up and flies right?

Oh no wait, that would mean I actually cared. I'm curious to see what happens this go round.......

~ Moon

CantKeepDoingThis's picture