You are here

Question for teacher’s or anyone in the school setting

Bettylou78's picture

SS’s report card came out and I was surprised by the teachers comments. “Pleasure to have in class” “ Works well with others” and my favorite “Respectful”

Now I guess there is a SMALL chance SS is a Dr. Jekyll Mr. Hyde personally BUT Doubtful. Yes I’m sure SS is better behaved at school because they have rules unlike DH or BM but there is no way this Unruly spoiled brat is a pleasure to have in class! 

So I’m thinking teachers feel they need to say SOMETHING positive on report cards. Maybe even Exaggerate a little??? Opinions? Are the positive comments on report cards Accurate?

Aunt Agatha's picture

I was a teacher for a little more than 10 years.  I did try to be positive as much as possible, or at least say one decent thing about the kid, before an area of improvement.  The catch more flies with honey principle.  Of course, some kids were holy terrors and 'vivacious' might be my word for 'won't sit still to save their life'.

So those decent things were sometimes more of a 'bless your heart' moment, if you know what I mean.

tog redux's picture

They do try to put some positive things on the report card - but generally, if your kid is misbehaving a lot in school, you know it.  Are DH and BM not hearing that he has issues in school? There are some kids who do well in school and poorly at home due to family problems/poor parenting. They respond well to rules and structure in school but don't get them at home.

Thefatherismyfamily's picture

A lot of times Kids are different at school than they are at home.

Livingoutloud's picture

My DD did excellent at school with both behavior and grades and in all 12 years of school I never received any negative comment or heard anything negative from any school officials. She was a rather difficult and at times rude teenager at home. I was a single mom and worked a lot and likely didn't give her enough attention :(