You are here

Letter to FH: Addressing lack of parenting

MaGoose2010's picture

Sorry...I posted on another thread, but it has been demoted to page 3.....

So, I have written a letter to FH (but before I give it to him)- would love feedback, as we had an explosion this morning and I am feeling even more down about this whole thing:

Dear FH
I am writing this letter to you because I resent you and your ex for the bad parenting of SS14. Both in the past and NOW in the present. I have been holding this resentment for many years now and have aimed it towards SS14 when in actual fact it should be mostly directed towards you (and the BM). There is a pattern I see here of SS14 and his education. You always blamed the school, the teachers or the kids. Hence him moving around from school to school. And I am not saying that this is ALL untrue, but did you ever stop to think that he may have been the instigator of part of this drama? Even when we started living together 5 years ago, you put him in a school and there was always drama, so he was put in a homeschool (but with some older kids), once again drama and nothing was achieved after we spent so much money on his course. Then I took over, but not being trained to teach and his non-compliance with my instructions and the exhaustiveness of it all (teaching in the mornings and running a business in the afternoons) we had to find him another homeschool. Now he is in a homeschool that he loves, feels safe, gets on with the kids, yet is still not pulling his weight, distracting the kids in class, blaming the teacher for his refusal to do his homework and once again he remains unable to be effectively educated.