You are here

New and losing my mind

DaranL's picture

Ok, I guess I am still pretty new to the whole stepparenting thing. I have been married to my wife for 10 months. I have 1 daughter, 8; she has 3 daughters, 14, 10, 8 and 1 son, 7; and now we have a son together. my main issue that is driving me crazy is that although my daughter is primarily with bm, I make it clear that I will support my wife in anything she tells my daughter and that it is more important to listen to her than to me. However, the other way around, I feel like almost everything I say is shot down by my wife, even if it is a direct quote that she has said. She tells me that I am too hard on the kids and too strict with them. After hearing the stories of what their bf wouldn't put up with, I am confused about that one. She also regularly tells me that I am sick of her kids and that they know it, but the only thing I am sick of is having no authority in my own home. I was raised in a family where being the adult had certain priviledges, but now I am always told how unfair things are if my wife or I gets anything that the kids don't. Sorry I kind of went into a second topic there, but I needed to vent a little.

DaranL's picture

BioMom,
That situation sounds very familiar, but I've tried the private thing too and that's when I get the "you're just sick of my kids" comments. I'm starting to feel like I just need to accept that I have no authority.

Enuffsenuff's picture

Looked up on-line parenting/discipline tactics for parents--and let my BF read them. WE have gone through the same issues and sometimes the only way I can get through to him is to have him "see" for himself that I"m not out there in space--but that there are "better" ways of handling things then how we often have.