You are here

Blended families with big age differences - between the kids and between the parents

Reluctant Step Mum's picture

My blended family consists of my young adult kids - girl 20, boy 19 and my step kids - boy 13 and girl 10.

They have absolutely nothing in common with the age difference and 'tolerate' each other when we are all together (which isn't that often). On top of that, my DH is 6 years younger than me, so I have quite a few years of extra parenting experience that he hasn't had yet.

There are so many issues in this type of blended family, like the nothing in common thing, like the fact that my kids are grown and pretty independant now and I want to enjoy my life without dealing with younger kid issues, like my husband is still doing the younger kid thing and wants me to be involved (which I hate).

Also the BM of my SK's raises them in a way that I think is nuts - they have no responsibilities at all. I often joke that she would still wipe their behinds if she could!). My BK's were raised to be independant early in life.

Step families are difficult to deal with any way you slice it. But age diffences just add to the drama.

Anyone else out there with a similar situation? I would love to hear from you. How do you cope with it all?

Rags's picture

My Skid is an only child in our home. I am 12yrs older than my wife but we have roughly equivalent parenting experience since we started dating when our Son (my SS) was 15mos and we married a week before he turned 2yo.

We have some of the age difference in life experience issues between my wife and I but I look at experiencing life with her, even when it is something I have done before, as a joy.

I can see how it would be difficult to try to blend a family with adult children, preteens and spouses with an age difference.

Throw in an idiot BM who caters to her children and a DH who has guilt parenting issues and it is off to the blended family adventure races.