You are here

New to step talk

tarynewtostep's picture

Hi everyone. I am new to step talk. I am a childless lesbian woman in a relationship with my partner, a woman who has two children from a previous relationship(marriage). We are not married. Her children are 5 and 8 and I have known them for over two years now and am actively involved in their lives. I have found step parenting to be rewarding yet very challenign and lonely at the same time. The main thing that I worry about when we have disagreements or are not getting along she shuts me out of their lives completely, as if I have never known them. It s hurtful and a lonely place to be. On top of that when we are not getting along it is mainly because if silly things, like parenting differences or the kids behaving badly. She acts as if I have done something terrible. She will what do you expect to happen if we break up?  Yet Im supposed to act like their parent and be in that role when we are getting along. Anyone feel me here?

fairyo's picture

Hi Tary welcome to the site. 

You are right about steparenting being challenging and lonely- but you will find friends here!

It seems to be from the little info you have put that this is not so much a problem with the skids as with your SO- this is a very common feature of steplife, that it is the parent who is not supportive of the step, and the step begins to suck up the shit when things go wrong.

Have you thought of counselling? I'm not a big fan, but it may help your SO to be more consistent and see that her parenting impacts on you, and that you can find some strategies for dealing with triggers.

I don't really know what else to suggest except stick around and you'll learn a lot and get good advice!

beebeel's picture

So she's willing to use her kids as weapons against you whenever you argue. Huge red flag. She very likely pulls the same shit with her ex, creating a high conflict situation.