You are here

Babysitting boyfriend's kids

Kiwi_koala's picture

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting but I've been lurking for weeks now. This website is officially my sanctuary.I honestly feel less alone these days.             

A little about my situation: I'm 29 and don't have any kids of my own yet. I've been with my boyfriend for one year now.He has 6 kids ranging from 2.5 to almost 12. The older 4 he has EOW. The younger two he has had full custody of for the last 5 months. The bio mom of the younger two is currently living with us because she had no where to go. My boyfriend hasn't been working for the last 7 months due to issues with his muscular skeletal system and joints. He is currently seeing doctors. He said he needs to return to work despite these issues that are going on because he doesn't have backed up savings and needs to support his children. The issue I am having with him is that he expects me to cut down hours with working or quit all together so I can stay home and watch his kids because he said it doesn't make sense for me to work since he makes a lot more money than me. The problem I'm having is that we're not married so why would that even be asked of me... And even if we were isn't that between you and their mother who also currently lives with us? I don't mind helping here and there but I don't see how this is my responsibility. Isn't that a lot to ask of a girlfriend?

fairyo's picture

Oh my what a mess- you don't have your own kids- you have been in a relationship for a year- he has six kids and has serious health problems- he wants you to stay home and be a servant- his ex lives with you!

Girl get out get out and then when you've got out go as far away as possible from this total craziness- unless you are totally crazy and I guess you can stay. I have no advice other than this.

SteppedOut's picture