You are here

Mother's Day Sucked

Tiffanyartist11's picture

Another Mother's Day (this time on the same day as my actual birthday) has passed and I have had no acknowledgement by my two step sons 16 and 18. Not even a simple "Happy Birthday," or "Happy Mother's day." They are so inconsiderate most of the time it makes me enraged. In the past I have gone as far as to help them get Mother's Day gifts for their own mom. None of those things matter. I am finding it hard to continue to do nice things for them when they do this to me year after year.

CantKeepDoingThis's picture

SD15 didn't acknowledge me on Mother's Day, either. Yeah, over the course of the time she has lived here for the last year, I have done things for her...picked her up from summer band, took her to get clothes. In the last months, I've stopped doing anything for her, because she is the most ungrateful person I've ever met! Didn't acknowledge me on Mother's Day? I look at is as a gift! If she had, it would have been with a fake smile as she didn't mean any of the words coming out of her mouth. The better present was for her to just avoid me completely, which she did very well yesterday! Had she said anything, or given me a card, it would have only made my skin crawl! LOL

BTW....Happy Birthday!!!! Biggrin

besteping's picture

I am new here, but I wanted you to know that I too did not get a "Happy Mother's Day!" from my two SD11 and SD13. Honestly, it hurt. I treat both of those kids like my own and I guess I am the only one that feels that way. When I was feeling sorry for myself and talked to DH, he said, "You aren't kind, when you ask them to do things, so why would you expect them to say "Happy Mothers Day" to you?" Nice.

CantKeepDoingThis's picture