You are here

Thankful this is a thing!

NikkiNue's picture
Forums: 

Hey All!

Newbie here! I just wanted to introduce myself and maybe get a little feed back re: my situation.

First, I want to express how thankful like am that a community like this exists. I've been feeling very alone in my unique life situation, especially when it comes to my "step kids" SD 6 and SS 9. Even my family has a hard time accepting the boundaries I have set.

At our first meet up, I made it very clear that I do not have kids and I do not want kids in this lifetime. We did talk about his children and his role in their lives. I was clear even then that I'm not interested in being a stepparent though I would always be supportive of him being a parent, as long as my boundaries and time are being respected. We recently married (November). We dated for 2 years before marrying and lived together for a year and a half. In that time, I observed his children's behavior and his and his BM parenting choices. When we started seriously making our wedding plans, I made sure to have a very honest and probably somewhat brutal conversation with him about my boundaries surrounding my role in his children's lives. I made it 100% clear that I am not interested in parenting or co-parenting; I do not agree with how his children are being raised nor am I nieve enough to belive that a few hours two days a week is going to have any sort of influence over their behavior. Yes, that is exactly what I said to him. I did not realize then that I was telling him, upfront, that I was going to be a disengaged stepparent. It's comforting that there is a word for it and others doing it.

Happy to be here!

JRI's picture

They will always be in his life but as long as you are polite and civil to them, that's all that is necessary.  I would add that at their ages, you must also be on guard for their safety and well-being when they are in your home, like you would do for any child.

Dogmom1321's picture