You are here

Help us save our marriage

baldartist2's picture

Background. I m45 have been married six months to my wife 41f. We have three kids, my 14m, her 15f and 12f. We have lived together for 3 years. I am a disabled military vet with PTSD, she is a RN. Her 12f has PTSD from sexual abuse from a grandparent when 4 years old, an ADHD (not treated).

Most of our problems involve the 12f, my sd. She, to me, has a variety of behaviour issues:

* Singing or making noise constantly.
* Not doing what is asked
* Interupting or talking over
* Trying to get DW attention when we are talking
* Trying to get her sister to give her food off her plate
* Throwing fits when doesn't get her way, usually screaming fits or crying.
* Talking back
* Borrowing things from her sister with out asking, or asking and when not given permission, borrowing it anyway.

Really, to me the only time she is not annoying is when she is on her phone texting or instagraming.

She has a bubbly personality and she is smart, interesting, fun, and even sweet. But she drives me nuts with all the other behavior.

I will own up to the fact that I get really frustrated easily, and when I do she may feel like she cannot do anything right.

The other issue is that my DW is very defensive and often lets me know infront of the kids. Sometimes even undermines.

We have fought over this on many occasions. My DW says that my SD12 should not be the "bane of my exixtance." Or I have been told, I don't know how to parent, or I don't say the right things, or I mumble under my breath. My DW is not a great disciplinarian. She knows that but gets really defensive and takes everything I say personally when it comes to her kids.