You are here

Gifts for step-kids

curlyknecht25@hotmail.com's picture

This is my first time posting here, but I have been a lurker for months. I am a step-mother and have one DS who is 9 years old. My question is when it is your step-kid's birthday do you get them a gift from you, on top of what you DH may have already bought them. I have been with my DH for 3 years and have been doing this for quit some time with his 4 children. The problem is they never say thank you and act very entitled. Should I just disengage a step further with no gifts form me and let hubby deal with it? Or should I just suck it up and accept that they aren't very grateful?

blayze's picture

Welcome. Does your dh prompt them to be appreciative to whomever gives them a gift? He should...that's a teaching moment. I give cash in a card... their age... so a 10 year old gets $10. They are ungrateful like yours, so when they don't say thanks, it's no sweat, and I look like I made an effort (for dad's benefit). }:)

Babycarrots's picture

Ditto DownsouthinTX

I did separate when I was dating/engaged and now that we are married...gifts are together.

LAMomma's picture

We just get one gift from all of us for them.. We treat them all equally since I have two and he has two. If they ask we just say "we" got it or it's from "us" even though I do the shopping.

If they're being butts then let DH handle the gift buying, wrapping, etc. Guys typically don't do well on this or don't care enough... Make sure you pipe up that's it's all from their lovely daddddyyyy and you had no part in it, especially if it's something crappy. lol

Cover1W's picture

I have purchased gifts for them from myself.