You are here

Emotionally Distant From SSs

The Voiceless One's picture

Hi, I am new to this so please bear with me. I am 24 and have two SSs (12 & 13). I came into their lives a few years ago and we got along great from the start. Their BM has mental health issues and only has visitation every other weekend. My DH did an amazing job at integrating us into a family. I have no kids of my own, so it's been a long, but rewarding, learning process.

My DH has dealt with a lot of strife throughout his life. About a year ago he started having an affair. He also became very depressed, angry, and near suicidal. I stuck with him and he eventually ended the affair; however, our marital strain continued to become worse and worse. We tried to keep our issues hidden from the kids, but I know they knew we were unhappy. While I was still resistant to give up on him, I inadvertently started distancing myself emotionally from my family, especially the kids. I wasn't sure if I would be a part of their lives much longer, since my DH seemed to want me to get away from them. However, he started going to therapy and working out his personal issues. We also went to marriage counseling. I'm happy to say that at this point our marriage is succeeding. We continue to improve everyday.

Although my marriage is strengthening, I am realizing how much damage was done to the relationships with my SSs. I feel like no matter how hard I try I cannot connect with them anymore. I feel like we are strangers living together in the same house. I think it might be all in my head, like I'm too scared to let them get close since the trauma with my DH was so recent. Also, they don't seem to act differently towards me besides the typical teenage ways. I've talked to my DH about how I feel and he thinks it will just take time. I don't know, though. I wonder if I'll ever feel close to them again. It's really bothering me and I interfering with my happiness, but I don't know what to do :-(.