You are here

Vacationing with adult skids - who pays for them?

Is_What_It_Is's picture

I'm still fairly new to the whole blended family/skid environment, Dh and I have been married a bit over 4 years. He has 4 kids, 2 girls age 16 and 19, and 2 boys age 21 and 23. I have one, she is 15. I was divorced, he was widowed.

I've been stalking, reading issues and situations - many are EXACTLY what has been going on in our house, only the names have changed. It is nice to know that I am not the only "horrible stepmomster" out there who isn't head-over-heels for her skids. I do not share any of this with anyone - they aren't blended so they just don't understand how one could not be enamored with the skids or how much shame it brings that those warm, fuzzy feelings just aren't there. The kids themselves aren't bad kids but they are your typical lazy, smart a$$ know-it-all's who pretty much think they run the house - and they exhibit the typical skid behavior of ignoring the wicked stepmom and excluding her evil DD from anything and everything. While Dh is a wonderful, caring, attentive, hard-working, do anything for anyone good 'ol boy - he can also be non-confrontational at times and tends to let things roll off his back a bit easier than I do. In a nutshell, that is dysfunctional us.