You are here

Question about kids and social media?

Disneylover2000's picture

I understand every kid is different BUT generally what age do kids take a Interest in having a Social media page(Facebook, tic tok, Instagram)?

lieutenant_dad's picture

I'd say whenever they get exposed to social media. If you let kids follow YouTubers who have IG accounts, kids will want IG accounts for the extra videos, photos, etc. My guess is that 8-9 years old, when kids learn how to more independently navigate the actual internet and not just apps is probably when the want starts. The perceived "need" is likely preteen years when popularity and "clout" are apparent in school cliques.

Stepmama2321's picture

Younger than they should!

I worked in a school and knew of 2nd graders (7 year olds) who had SNAPCHAT! Also my SD8 is obsessed with TikTok, as is my niece 9. It's the new "norm". Not saying it's right.

SeeYouNever's picture

They become interested as soon as mom or family members involve them in it. Interes t increases whenever a kid gets a phone of their own.

advice.only2's picture

I think generally the age is going to be dependent on the adult who supplies them with a phone/table/computer so they can access those sites.

Dogmom1321's picture

SD was 9 when her BM got her a phone. Totally equipped with SnapChat and TikTok. DH forbids the phone from coming to our house. I showed him the inappropriate videos she was making of her cussing, dancing, etc. Not much you can do if BM allows it. 

ESMOD's picture

It's pretty young.  Social Media is pretty pervasive in our lives these days...   I don't necessarily think that some access is all bad.. but depending upon the age.. limits and parental oversight are the most important facets.

Kids can be contacted by so many people who may have bad intentions.