You are here

moving to accommodate 50/50

lily rod82's picture

Hello everyone. I'm new to this but I need some insight/advice. I'm engaged to a wonderful man who loves me and my boys as if they were his. He has 2 wonderful daughters, one of which he has 50/50 (week on week off) custody. She is now 4 years old and should be starting pre k in august. Her mother, who has moved about 5 times during the course of our 2 year relarionship, currently lives in another town about 50 min away from where we currently reside. He has decided that we need to move to the same school zone to accommodate his 50/50 custody. My problem is that I have always tried to keep my boys as stable as possible. Note that one of my boys is almost 15 which would mean a whole new high school and neighborhood. I'm afraid that this won't be good for us. My parents are a great support system with the kids when we need them. They wont be able to help us out with watching the kids as they do now which means one of us would have to leave work early to pick up the kids. His ex wife is a total nutcase and constantly neglects her daughter. The courts do not grant him full custody despite the constant proof of neglect. I don't want to move every time she moves just to be closer. I don't think it's fair to my boys and I'm losing my mind. Please advise and if there are any questions I'd have happy to answer them since it's a lot of info to type out here.

lily rod82's picture

You're right. I have stated very clearly that I was not following her all around the state of Florida. And I do love him with all my heart. I would never make him choose cause I really admire all that he does for his girls especially cause both of my boys' father's are dead beats. But I can't help but wonder that if this doesn't work out I'm left with nothing.

Calypso1977's picture

i would not make this move.
luckily you are not yet married so this gives you much more freedom and flexibility to make some decisions.

Sweet T's picture