You are here

DH not paying his share AGAIN

christinen's picture

Hi all,

I just need some validation here to make sure I am not crazy. If you read my other posts, my DH has major financial issues that are driving me up the wall (I’m a CPA so I am used to dealing with other people’s financial problems, but not used to having them myself—and DH’s problems have been starting to affect me since we got married in April). Anyway, this is the latest thing-- we rent a house and our dryer broke. It’s in our lease that the landlord provide a washer and dryer. The landlord decided it would be easier to just take $400 off this month’s rent (let us pay $600 instead of the normal $1000) so that we could buy our own dryer. The way we have it split up is that DH is supposed to pay $800 toward rent and I am supposed to pay $200 (I pay all the other bills).

Well rent was due at the beginning of the month and DH has not had his share of the money, so he decides he is going to take that $400 (for a dryer) off his share of the rent, take nothing off my share, AND not buy a dryer. So he is basically making out for $400 because he thinks he will just pay $400 instead of $800 and I still pay $200. Problem is, not only is that not fair to me at all, but we really need a dryer! Does anyone else see the issue here or am I crazy??! He acts like he is doing nothing wrong! Granted, if this was just a one-time thing it probably wouldn’t be a huge deal, but he does crap like this ALL THE TIME!! I feel like I have a child and not a husband!

smdh's picture

Um, I think your dh sounds like the kind of person who would totally commit insurance fraud. Tell him if he is taking the "break" on the rent, then he is buying a new dryer TODAY. OR he can go to the laundry mat everyday and dry clothes. Plus, the landlord will expect a new dryer to be in the place when you leave, so basically it is fraud for it to not be replaced.

christinen's picture