You are here

Dealing with your partner the biological parent

Janine105's picture

Hello everyone,

I am very new to this and I really need help. I have no children of my own. My boyfriend now lives with me and he has a 6 year old daughter who's with us every Monday, Wednesday and every other weekend. I have a wonderful relationship with her. My issue is with my partner although he will usually ask me about decisions with our Layla there are times when he is just like she staying or coming and that's it. I feel like I have no control. And I get angry because sometimes I need my feelings and needs taken into co side ration. He has a poor relationship with his ex who kept his daughter away as much as she could and now that Layla is 6 she is starting to want to spend more time with us. He is so crazed by her finally wanting to spend more tome that he doesn't even consider discussing with me because when she is here it is the two of us that play all day and all night. I feel sometimes I am losing control of my life and my private time. I don't want to feel this way can anyone relate to this convoluted  message? 

Rumplestiltskin's picture

I'm pretty sure everyone here can relate. Your feelings are valid. You should both decide who sleeps in your home and when. So many bioparents don't see it that way, though, and that's why so many stepparents vent here. Others may be able to help you with how to approach your husband, definitely in a non-confrontational way, though. Like "um, you know i love her and love spending time with her, but since you are the one talking to your ex and making plans, i am not given the same choice and consideration as the two of you when deciding. As the other adult in the home, i would like to be given the same rights as you when making that decision." Good luck. 

Janine105's picture

Thank you so very much this is very helpful and I don't feel alone and guilty about feeling this way.

JRI's picture