You are here

blended family dysfunction

greglgolf's picture

My wife and I have been married for just over 3 years. We have a son together (2yrs) and she has a son from a previous marriage who is 10 yrs. When we first moved in together after we were married, I noticed right away that my wife's emotional relationship with her son was a bit out of whack. She had given him all the control. Primarily because she felt guilty for her divorce. Guilty in how it affected him. She runs everything by him first, makes plans with him, then asks me if I want to come along...and if I don't want to, she accuses me of not being involved enough. Her child definitely calls the shots in the house, much to my displeasure. She never administers discipline and when I suggest it, I am accused of not liking her son. My wife is very emotional and not a communicator. This makes any change almost impossible.

I am no expert at relationships, but I do try to do everything I can to make her and her son feel secure and loved, but she consistently goes to her son to get her emotional needs met.

I am human and not perfect by any means. I have reacted by detaching myself, to some degree, from the situation. I know this doesn't help, but I don't know how to get through. We have gone to counseling, but the emotional dynamic between her and her biological son, I believe, will never change. I have rationalized my detachment as the lesser of two evils. When we are all together, the dynamic is so dysfunctional, that it is better to remove myself from the group and do my own thing (which is not ideal either). Kids can sense the slightest dysfunction between parents and I seek to minimize it, but I would rather have a healthy relationship with my wife and family. Discussing it with her is interpreted as dissent and all I get is defensiveness.

Help.

greglgolf's picture