You are here

Addressing emotional incest

onthefence2's picture

I'm so thankful for the help you all provided in directing me to keywords to research. I have figured out a LOT about my issues with my boyfriend and what is causing ALL of our problems. Not only is he still enmeshed with his mother, he is doing the same thing to his son. His mom confides in him things she should not be sharing with a son, and he has put his own son in an equal role with him (spouse like) rather than a father/son relationship. This leaves no space for a girlfriend OR spouse. So...he and I are "talking" on Friday (we currently are not speaking at all, on my doing, and will be sitting down to have a "reallllllly loooooooooooong talk"). I am not good AT ALL with verbal discussions. I am much better at putting my thoughts on paper. I am trying to figure out words that are less harsh than "emotional incest". How do I explain to him what I think is happening, without using words that sound derogatory or inflammatory? My plan is to first ask him how the relationship is going for him and ask him for his opinion on why things might not be going well for me. I want to hear what he's been thinking and how he feels about everything. In the past, he has been receptive, took full responsibility for the things I pointed out that I was not going to put up with anymore, but this time, it is more about the cause rather than the symptoms. So instead of saying, "change these things," it is more of, "you need therapy!" LOL I don't want to say the wrong thing. I don't know how to go from "what do you think?" to, "here's what's going on..." I tend to be too blunt and just blurt out my thought with absolutely no tact. Please...tell me how to do it!

Tomorrow I am getting the book "When he's married to mom..." from the library and I'm hoping it will have some good insight.

Meh's picture