You are here

Vacationing without skid

napamom's picture

First of all, I just want to thank everyone on this site. I was feeling alone and horrible all at the same time for not liking my SD 13 and dreading her every visit. Reading your posts made me feel normal and less isolated. This is my first time writing. I have been reading many posts surrounding the question of whether it is ok to not take your skids on every vacation that is with the stepparents family. This has been a HUGE issue in my marriage. My SD 13 hates me, makes that very known and makes things pretty unpleasant. With that said, my DH still felt she should come on every trip. I disagreed. We took this to our therapist, who works with blended families issues exclusively, and she said this. I need at least one trip a year with my kids and my husband to unwind and be with my family without the stress of the SD. I was at the point of turning down trips with my extended family because I just didn't want to deal with the stress. The fact that I know I can have one trip a year with my husband and kids has been such a relief. Another thing she said to my husband also helped us all. She said "your wife is simply that to your daughter, her father's wife. Not a stepmom because she doesn't want one. They may never life each other and you need to be ok with that." Not a fun way to live but takes the pressure off.

Orange County Ca's picture

Daddy should spend his vacations with his kids. This is quality time with his kid. If that means the two of you don't have a vacation together for another 5 years will that's the sacrafice we make for children. I took mine camping every summer and did not impose them on my new wife.

Regarding your relatioonship with the girl this is what I did:

I wrote this a long time ago and I hope this helps with your problem. It may not reflect your exact situation but you'll get the idea: