You are here

Absent BioMom Still Making Life H*ll

Lamb's picture

Hi Everyone, I'm new here and desperate for support from those in similar situations. My background provides a little more detail on the current situation. I am currently helping my long-term SO raise our sweet 2 1/2-year-old little boy. His mother is undiagnosed but clearly mentally-ill. I don't believe it's ethical to speculate to specifically but I do believe it is a personality disorder.

I have been raising our DS since he was 6 months old. He has called me Mama (with no prompting) for almost a year now, and I love and treat him as my own. I have been present in more of his young life than his BM because of her actions. BM was constantly emotionally and verbally abusive toward SO during the pregnancy and it escalated after he told her he didn't want to be in a relationship and filed a degree of paternity to protect his legal rights. She threatened suicide countless times, and when she began making veiled threats against the baby's life as well, he got a PO and gained temporary full custody. He did everything possible and spent tens of thousands of dollars to work out a legal compromise to GIVE HER BACk 50/50 custody, on the condition that she cease the abuse and go to therapy (THAT HE PAID FOR HALF OF) to get learn how to co-parent in a healthy way. After a year of her slowly gaining back custody (and not always staying true to the requirements) she freaked out in front of his house after she had two extra weeks for Christmas, and couldn't have the third week for New Years (because she did not read the custody agreement and came to pick him up after we had had him back for only 2 days), and verbally and in writing (email) abandoned our sweet baby, one week before his second birthday. This is the third time since his birth that she has abandoned him. Despite this, SO tried to contact her three days before DS's B-Day to arrange to pick up time,  even offering an extra day so DS could spend the ni