You are here

SS not making efforts and is in fact emotionally manipulative; so shy should I continue?

unknown's picture

I have been standing on my head for 3 years trying to get this moody introverted 12 year old to bond with me. he has made very little effort. he's withdrawn, uninterested, sarcastic and sulking all the time. even though he remembers nothing of his parents being together, somewhere along the way, he learned that it works to play the 'poor me my parents broke up and i'm so hard done by' card. i think this stems from his bd and his dad's parents. they play into it and constantly put down this kid's BM. my hubby and i recently had a baby of our own in the spring, and my SS completely ignores her, treats her like she doesn't exist. this is not new behavior for him as when his mother had two more children with her new husband, he referred to these young babies as 'insects'. this made his dad and grandmother snicker as they thought it was funny. at the time, i was horrified.