You are here

New here with 2 stepkids

Hfew13's picture

Hello all, I am new here and I have 2 stepkids aged 12 and 9. Sounds almost like an AA meeting. I have 3 kids of my own 21, 18 and 14.  My kids have always been pretty passive and quiet kids. They are definitely NOT angels that's for sure. My stepkids are on a whole other level. SS isnt a bad kid but he plays on his parents emotions a lot. He is very controlling over his mother and tries to do it with my husband but I wont allow it. He wants to know every aspect of their day, how much money they made and what bills are being paid. It blows my mind that the exwife endulges him.  The kid also stills pees the bed. My husband and ex call it accidents. I just say hey you peed the bed? Well, clean it up. (I'm a nurse as well so it's nothing to me). They make it such a big deal that he hides it. That's what pisses me off the most. I know what urine smells like. I dont want it in my house. I have tried time and time again to get them to take him to the doctor but the ex wont do it. We even took him and had a referral for a urologist and she said that he didn't want to go. So she didnt force him. But she is a hypochondriac when it comes to everything else. The 9 yr old SD is just a brat. She doesnt listen, she is overtly sexual, she wants to be 19 yesterday and is very provocative.  She does stuff that make you say WTF?? My husband is super emotional and it takes everything in him to discipline the kids. Then he gets mad at me cause I made him be mean. The ex doesnt do much either. Their stepdad is on the same page as me. We do get a chance to chat every so often. My kids try really hard to do things with them and get along with the 12 year old but the 9 yr old is just way too much of a brat. Even my husbands parents cant handle her but then they dont like it when I get on her case. They say it's a double standard. Well, 9 yr olds shouldnt be able to get what they want when they want. Teenagers have a little more say