You are here

My head and heart hurt, not sure where to begin

Lumidare's picture

This is my first time with an original post here; I'm really not sure where to begin since it is such a long story. But, here goes.

I married my husband 10 years ago. I have been as kind and patient with his son as I ever hoped anyone would be with me, and all I have ever been given in return is nastiness, scorn, and hostility. Now that SS is 15, it has turned to cold indifference and fake smiles.

He just moved in with us full time in October, completely unexpected with one week notice after his BM got into an altercation with her soon to be ex. She called and asked if we could keep SS while she got on her feet again. DH jumped at the chance to have him move in with us without batting an eye, it was his dream come true. I had a mini breakdown because I knew what we just got dropped on our doorstep. Right then, after a long conversation reminding him that historically, I've spent more visitation time with SS than he has and he has no idea how challenging SS can be, I let my DH know that whatever happens with SS, it is his responsibility to manage. He looked at me like I was being a complete bitch, but he bought off on it.

It was probably the most important stance I've ever taken.

Fast forward to present. SS was committed to a psychiatric hospital three weeks after he arrived here and stayed until insurance said it was time to go. He's in the juvi court system for attacking another kid at school. He's homebound for education because he said he heard voices in his head telling him to kill his teacher (turns out he had a test in that class that day, hmm). He is completely incapable of functioning on his own without prodding, and homework is a nightmare. He has appointments with varying doctors and court things 2-3 times per week.