You are here

Mistakes I've Made

DoberGirl's picture

It's so easy to come here and vent our frustrations. SPs get the short end of the stick in the blended family dynamic far too often and sometimes this is the only safe place to vent. But I made some mistakes too. Here's what I've learned the hard way:

* Although I have a lot of life experience dealing with the same abuse and abandonment issues as the SKIDs, they don't want my help in overcoming their own. My well-intended attempts were perceived as an intrusion and judgement. My approach was all wrong. 

* I assumed my attempts to bond would be returned. They didn't ask for my presence in their life. Trust takes time. I was impatient.

* I assumed SO agreed with my vision of our future, which entailed the SKIDs launching as soon as they were finished with school and had jobs. I interpreted his silence in planning the future as acceptance. Turns out he didn't agree with that plan at all. I should have listened to the silence more. (Yes, he should have used his words more.)

* I assumed that SO and the SKIDs were flexible and adaptable to change. I'm a gypsy. I naturally roll with change. I can't assume everybody is like me and that they may need more time to adjust to the idea of change.

* When SO finally did use his words to express his anxiety at the idea of all the changes I was expecting, I took it as a rejection and we got in a fight. SO hates conflict so he shut down and doesn't use his words anymore for fear of my reaction. 

These are just the big ones. SO made plenty of assumptions and mistakes too, but it takes two to make a relationship work and blended families have to work even harder. 

Just sharing what I've learned about myself in the hopes it can help someone else. Maybe I'm repeating the mistake in the first bullet again.  Smile

JRI's picture

How about:

I thought my good intentions would make everything ok.

JRI's picture

I thought every BM would want to retain primary custody of her kids.