You are here

Why stay?

larisau's picture

This is my first time here. Hello, everybody! I've been reading forums here for quite sometime and all last night (another bout of insomnia), so if I sound a little discombobulated from the lack of sleep I apologize in advance. But I had to ask this question: "what compells us to stay in those curdled stepfamilies?" I know, everybody has different reasons and some of them are pretty hefty, like may be planning to have kids together, financial, strong love for a spouse, etc. But from what I know from a personal experience and a general consensus-there is so little happiness in the life of a stepparent. The running theme here is that we lose the very essense of who we are, may be not right away, so my question would be directed more at those with

RedWingsFan's picture

My DH is the most wonderful, kind, gentle, HONEST and thoughtful person I've ever met. AND he was willing to put boundaries and set rules with stepdevil14 in place so she wouldn't ruin our relationship (but boy she tried!)

I've never met anyone that has loved me the way he has. And his father and granddad are just him, only older. They are all one-women types that truly cater to their wives and love unconditionally.

Had he continued to allow SD14 to rule him as it were when we first got together, I wouldn't have stayed. But since he was open to changing things with her and putting our relationship first, I would never leave his side.

TASHA1983's picture

I think I speak for most of us and myself as well when I say we STAY for the man we love. If it weren't for our men making it "WORTH IT" (treating us great, respecting us and our boundaries with the skids/bm, putting skids/bm in their place, putting us/our relationship FIRST, ETC.) then I am sure pretty much, if not all of us would tell them to pound sand!!! Smile

New second wife-step-mom's picture

I love DH. DH loves me.