You are here

Introduction and history

elizabeth in a corner's picture

Hi folks,
This is my first time posting instead of just lurking, but I think I've reached the point where if I don't get some help I'll be leaving my husband. I know that sounds rather dramatic, but I've been trying to deal with the same handful of problems for almost three years now, to little avail. I'll start by giving some background on my situation and give some insight on why I have hit this point. Apologies if this is long.

I'm 33 years old, currently living in Ohio, but from Missouri. All of my family, friends, everything is still in Missouri, I am in Ohio because that's where my husband, (age 45) is from, along with his now, 15 year old daughter. He and I met through some mutual friends and dated long distance for almost five years before we got married. In that span of time I experienced several severe tmj flairup that lasted several months each, three back surgeries, a removed gallbladder, major nerve damage, and a couple of other things that have left me a chronic pain chick. Through all of this my husband was with me and very supportive and loving. I managed to keep working, but all of the physical trauma and exhausting pain threw me into a very dark depression that I couldn't figure out how to get out of. Eventually, through careful research I was able to get a solid handle on it and regain a normal life. Partly due to the love from my family and husband, but a large part was thanks to Elmo, my now 18 year old spider monkey. He has been with me since he was eight months old and as far as I'm concerned, he's my son. I've done everything for him that a mother would do for a child she didn't give birth to. He is my boy, and knowing I couldn't be with him was what drove me to do my therapy and everything I could in order to walk well enough to take care of him.
As a side note, my family took care of Elmo while I was down and they see to his needs now.