You are here

Step Mom or Dads Wife

CLNichols's picture

I am new to this so bear with me, and I apologize if it's lengthy!! So I am in a second marriage of almost 3 years. I have 3 kids, 25, 21 and 9. He has 3 as well 21, 20 and 17. My biggest issue or concern is his 20 year old daughter! She has always lived with her mom since we met, as expected. But when she is in need of something she cries to us and we of course help, which I thought was what we did as a parent/stepparent. My husband would do the same for my kids...but it has now gotten to a point that I believe, cause actions speak louder than words, I am nothing to her. We were on our honeymoon, she texts her dad and says I need $100 to pay for my CNA test, ok no problem, she was getting certified...passed the test and never went anywhere with that, her excuse was I don't want to wipe old people's butts! Then she needed new cheer shoes, bought them for her, she never had them on when we went to watch. Then her car insurance is on our plan and she pays us, several months in a row she couldn't and we covered for her. Then she graduates, we throw a party, no one comes but 1 friend...spent a lot of money, barely a thank you. Now fast forward to 2019, she gets pregnant, and the news is told to everyone but me, she took her dad to dinner to give the news. she is 20 and working in a teen clothing store, her feet hurt, she doesn't have good shoes, I take her to buy good Nike shoes, hasn't worn them. Every new thing with the pregnancy is told to her dad, I'm not even included. So I thought, take the high road Carrie. She calls her dad upset b/c she doesn't have any maternity clothes...I went to Goodwill and bought her and baby a bunch of clothes. Just a thank you and she walked away with the bag and I haven't seen any of the clothes on her. Then I throw a baby shower for my husbands side of family and her friends, 1 friend came and the few family and once again I spent a lot of money, time and energy into this for j