You are here

Step Daughter and Ex wife

pruvan girls's picture

I'm new to step talk but not new to the stupid step parenting issues.
My husband has kids one being AA daughter that lives in NY and we live in CA. His ex lives in NY too and she by far one of the most unbelievable mean and nasty person you will ever meet. To say the least, she has cause us a lot of issues over the years and we just basically keep away from her. His daughter who is 21 is graduating from a trade college and she wants him to come and I said that I wasn't going to bring our daughters across the country for basically an overnight adventure. They are 3 1/2 and 10 months. It would be just too much for them. I told him that he should go but that I didn't like the idea since his ex would be there and in December his daughter happened to mention the her mother was still in love with her father. Now they had been divorced 7 years before I even met my husband and at the time his ex was engaged to be married so it's not like I took anyone from anyone!
I told him that I didn't feel comfortable with him spending time with his ex other than the graduation and the graduation dinner to follow. Come to find out that he not only spent those times with them he ALSO went for dinner with his EX and Daughter the night before paid for the dinner and then his daughter had a professional photographer come and take tons of pictures of them with us footing the bill. Now, I know about you but this really really really upset me. I mean I feel that very understanding when it came to the time together at the graduation stuff but to really go to dinner and PICTURES. I mean it really made me feel uncomfortable with the whole thing. Would any of you out there that our steps be ok with this situation happening to you? And my husband just came back with the excuse that he was doing it for his daughter. That isn't good enough for me. I'm his wife should my feelings matter too? Help!

Most Evil's picture