You are here

No approval from adult SD

Young Step Mum's picture

Hi everyone! Smile

This is my first time posting so just a bit of background info:

I've been with my partner for 4 years and we are marring in a few months. I have a child (8) and he has an adult child (24). Neither of us has been previously married and DP was with bio mum for only a few years. We have a significant age gap but please no judgement as it was a big deal for both of us and we have a very solid and happy relationship.

However, SD has never approved of the relationship, before she even met me, based on age. Okay, fair enough. But once she got to know me she said she doesnt have a problem with me - just still doesn't "approve".

She spent the start of our relationship constantly calling DP whenever she knew we were on a date and has never been polite to me unless DP is around. She then moved interstate, we visited her and things were okay, she visited us and I would let her stay at my place and I just stayed at DP (we have seperate houses until I sell mine). 

Fast forward to recent times and she's moving back here and wants to stay in my place but never asked me and just organised with DP behind my back. Then he gets annoyed when I'm clueless to the plans and have let someone rent my place short-term. But why am I being excluded from decisions about my own home?!

Anyway, SD is back and requests time just with DP, thats fine and I encourage it. But when she comes over to our place she speaks only to him and all I get is a "hi". She greeted my cat more friendly and before she greeted me! Then whenever they talk they just exclude me and my child, to the extent of going outside and chatting for an hour while I sit inside uninvited. 

I feel like an outsider in my own relationship whenever SD is around because she blocks me out of every conversation unless she wants something from me! Its gotten to the point where I feel sick with anxiety knowing she is dropping past.