You are here

New relationship with live at home adult step-daughter in the mix

inkspot's picture

Hi,

This is my first time posting, so please excuse that I don't know all the acronyms used around here.

I'm a divorced 49 year old male, with no children.  I had a prior marriage of 20+ years and am trying to build a new relationship with a beautiful new woman (let's call her Jose) who has been divorced for six years.

Jose has two adult daughters (let's call them Sally and Ann), both in their early twenties

Sally, the elder daughter, does not live in the house with Jose, but Ann does.

When the relationship commenced between myself and Jose both Sally and Ann had no immediate objection to our relationship, and Sally continues to be unconcerned about it.

Ann on the other hand has been using some fairly transparent tactics to exclude me from the relationship in small but noticeable ways.  Things came to a head when Jose posted on facebook that she was in a relationship with me.  The news was received with delight by many people.  However on seeing this post Ann told her mum that she should have cleared it with her ex Husband first.

This was very troubling to me that Ann had so much power over her mother since frankly it isn't any of her business and it certainly isn't the business of her ex who Jose dates after six years being divorced.

I've talked to Jose about it and I'm getting mixed messages.  On the one hand she says she sees that there is a problem, that it is her life and will fix it, but on the other hand it isn't being fixed.