You are here

Dear Prudence recommends Daughter Sue Father for refusing to pay for law school!

Pilgrim Soul's picture

I think she should go straight to the International Tribunal in the Hague to say her filial rights have been undermined and her life ruined by this unnecessary law degree!

http://www.slate.com/articles/life/dear_prudence/2014/06/dear_prudence_m...

Dear Prudie,
I graduated from law school several years ago and it was the biggest mistake of my life. I had allowed my parents to persuade me of their dream for me — becoming an attorney. Law school was hell, academically and socially. I was miserable and filed the necessary paperwork to leave. My father told me that if I completed law school that he would pay all the loans I took out. I believed him because he had paid for college and he also showed me some of his accounts to ensure that he would be able to pay without bankrupting himself. I resumed classes and upon graduation, when I inquired about loan repayments, my father said that he never intended to pay, that he lied to me to get me to finish school, and that I was on my own. He stated that there was nothing I could do because there was no contract (obviously a major mistake on my end) and no witnesses, and he doesn’t care what I have to deal with. I am disgusted that he has no remorse and is so smug at getting away with deceiving me. I now have twice the debt I would have if I had I left school. How do I get over this betrayal?

—Resentful Daughter

Dear Daughter,