You are here

Worried

frightened's picture

I am very new to the whole stepmother thing and frightened. I do not have any children of my own and have only ever taught kids in Vacation Bible School and the like. I loved working with the children but also never had any real difficulties.

Problem: My stepchild is special needs (his mother says autistic) and has been neglected by his mother. At five years old, he's already tortured small animals and set a few small fires in the house (not our house but his mom's house). He bites, scratches, kicks, and curses everyone around him whenever he is told "no." I have no idea what to do with him. So far it hasn't been an issue because my husband and I have lived too far away to visit (other side of world). Now we are only 11 hours away and the visits are going to be regular. I'm terrified for my dogs and house. I feel selfish for thinking of these things instead of thinking how great it will be to have my stepson around. I have talked about my fears with my husband who seems to think that all of those behaviors will stop once his son is here in a nice normal home.

Am I a bad person? I've busied myself getting my stepson's bedroom decorated and planning a nice beach trip since he's never seen the ocean. Am I being ridiculous to be so worried and frightened?

proud mom's picture