You are here

Why should I include SD10 in everything?!

NoNameThx's picture

I love my SD10. She is a great kid. But like any kid, she does things that are ridiculous. She expects me to involve her in every single thing I do, and I feel like it's unreasonable.

I am a teacher. I'm teaching at a different school this year and my classroom is actually brand new and very nice. Like any teacher, I was pretty darn excited to decorate it and set it up just the way I wanted it. I spent all yesterday decorating. Came home for dinner. SD10 asked if she could help me decorate my room. I told her that it was already done. She got hurt and pouted. Husband told me I really should have brought her along so she could "be involved".

I think that's ridiculous. It is MY job, MY classroom, and I simply wanted to do it myself! She doesn't even go to this school, so it's not like she is any real part of my new school! I don't understand what I did that was so wrong...it wasn't like I involved everyone BUT her. I didn't ask ANYONE in my life to help me decorate. I simply wanted the satisfaction of doing it myself.

Sometimes though I can't tell if I really am being selfish, or if hubby and SD10 are the ones being ridiculous. I would like you guys thoughts on this please.

misSTEP's picture

THAT is a good point. It's his child. HE can take her to work if she needs to be "involved."

TASHA1983's picture

YOU are not being selfish one bit, your DH and SD are being ridiculous! Sounds like a classic Disney Dad and spoiled, selfish, entitled brat situation to me....SMH. I feel for you!

I just love that double standard of how a SM should do this or that for their spouse's/SO's kid but they can't/don't/won't do it for their own kid!!!! LOVE that! *rolling my eyes* :sick:

oldone's picture