You are here

totally off topic-would this be inappropriate?

hismineandours's picture

I am a therapist. I have a ct whose son is in foster care and happens to be in my dd's 3rd grade class-in fact she sits right next to him. He is inappropriate alot-and he told her today that he is going to pick her to dance with (they do square dancing in a few weeks)-well in therapy his mom told me that her son is sexually acting out-masturbating in front of others and that he is obsessed with boobs. Now, this is probably the last person I want my dd dancing with but would it be incredibly inappropriate for me to contact the school and say I am uncomfortable with her having that close of contact with this boy?

iwishyouwould's picture

Isn't sexual 'acting out' of any kind at that age a red flag that the child is being sexually abused?

hismineandours's picture

Yes-it is-the child has repoertedly been sexually abused in the past. My dd is VERY loud and very assertive I just hate it that she sits right next to him

poisonivy's picture

I would invite him over to the house for a nice meal and while cleaning my hunting rifle, remind him how important boundaries are and how much I love me daughter and how I'd do anything to protect her. }:) }:) }:)

Persephone's picture

Hmmmm, long ponder. I guess the bright side is that at least you KNOW that this child has been a victim of abuse and is seeking help. How many of us parents are not loaded with this privileged information?

Educate your child---as we all should. Would it make you feel better if he square dances with another girl--not in the no? (probably not.) Should he be ostracized from this? IMO, that's re-victimizing. Perhaps you can guide this behavior some way(????)

iwishyouwould's picture