You are here

How to explain to a 5 year old the difference between boys and girls?

newbiestepmom25's picture

During dinner SS5 busts out and says .

SS5: " daddy, newbiestepmom25 what makes girls and boys differn't? Cause my friend kyle said girls don't got peepee's is that true?

DH: No Girls do not have pee pee's they have other parts

SS5:" oh.... Do girls got nuts?

DH: " No. Now finish your food.

SS5: Newbiestepmom25 how do you pee if you don't have a pee pee?

Me: Lets talk abou this after dinner

SS5: Kyle said girls got boobs, but not only girls causse grandpa(FIL) gots boobs.

Me:(holding back a laugh) We will finish this discussion after dinner ok

SS5: okay

How should we approach this topic with him. I'm sorry this is my first time being asked this.

newbiestepmom25's picture

lol no more kyle 4 sure.

SS has not asked anymore questons so Idon't know if we should bring it up and talk about it or just wait until he brings it up again.

jumanji's picture

Wait - he's FIVE and doesn't yet know that boys and girls are different? Both parents have really dropped the ball on this one, IMO.

RainbowsAndDaisies's picture

Use the real words for body parts. Don't over explain. Boys and girls have different bodies. Girls have this and bpys have that. That's how (god/mother nature/whatever) made us. Might be A good time to have a talk about private parts - namely the fact that they are private and no one else touches your private parts but you.

mnmat86's picture