You are here

New to being a SM :/

Katoglow's picture

I am new to being a SM, have only been one almost a year now. I have some questions about basic expectations. I have 5 adult step children, ages 20-30. I don’t have the worst relationship with them but as with all steps there are uncomfortable issues to address. I’m sure nothing is “typical” but how does one handle the issue of money with adult SC? What about the amount of time they spend in the home my DH and I share? Is it “normal” that it seems like SD20  is a bit jealous of the relationship I have with her father? What about rude kids? If they are technically adults but still act as children, can you have talks with them as adults? Or do you treat them like children? Do steps ever have good relationships with SKIDS? How much time are you required to spend with SKIDS in order to be considered as trying to have a relationship when you don’t actually enjoy their company? What do you do if you have a favorite SC bc they have been best to you? How much should a SM care about how the SKIDS feel about her? Do you have to get along with the SKIDS in order to have a happy marriage that has a chance? How reasonable is it to hope for an amicable relationship with SKIDS? Should I expect my DH to be on my side if I have to confront SKIDS at any point? Or should I plan on taking it up with them seperately and hope we can work it it without their DH? How often is a SM expected to listen about how great a BM is? If you were not a SC, is it fair to expect a certain behavior of your SKIDS towards you? So many questions.