You are here

Lie of omission

Angel's picture

When I got married (3 years ago), we decided that he would pay for the wedding and I would pay for the honeymoon. Well, he came up short $500.00 & I pitched in the rest. I found out a year later (yes, I've been stewing for two years) that he gave his daughter, who barely graduated from an "alternative" high school $500.00 for brand new car (to help with the down payment). I would have postponed the wedding so that he would have gotten his affairs in order without making me a pawn. I feel like I paid for his daughter's down payment. I am hurt and angry. Am I making a mountain out of a mole hill?

He lives with me in my home. He recently has pitched in more financially, but that first year he gave me very little (by just covering his own expenses).

The lie of omission is killing me.

Nise's picture

I've been married 3 years too this January. Is it the lie or is it that you don't think he is pulling his weight enough in the marriage...if it is the lie i say let it go b/c i'm sure there are plenty "reasons" he would give for doing this and what's done is done. But if it is the finances that really bother you, i would find the time to address it w/o brining up the daughter's car, in a constructive way with "solutions" in mind...

Us newly weds gotta pick our battles wisely, that is what i'm learning in my own marriage anyway...I've actually asked myself "do i wanna bring up XYZ and creat the tension that i know will come or can i deal with my feeligs on this on my own (ususally it is a fleeting emotion that will go away when my mind "corrects" itself...) and enjoy my husband?

Make a GREAT Day!

crazyhair123's picture