You are here

Husband Torn Between Son's Birthday and Birth of Our Daughter

christine007's picture

Hi guys, I'm new to this site, and this is my first time posting. Let me give you some background about me and my situation Smile

My husband and I have been married about a year a half. He has a soon to be 6 year old son from a previous relationship. I have never met his son, nor his son's mother, nor any of my husband's family for that matter. His son lives in another country, but it's only about an hour and a half flight away from us. I am 8 months pregnant with our first child together. Our daughter is due June 5th, and my husband's son's birthday is June 11th.

Here is the problem:

My husband informed me last the other night that he is trying to arrange to see his son for his birthday. Of course I want to encourage him to see his boy, especially on his birthday, but I really can't stomach the thought of him leaving the country while I have a brand new baby (first time mom too) or him being distracted because his kid and the kid's mom are here. This is something I really want to experience with my husband completely and with his full attention. I don't want others involved (my mom will be here, but that's the only extra person I want around). I know this probably makes me sound like a petty, small person, but I just can't help but feel this way towards this situation Sad

I'm just so stressed and anxious about all of this. I know my husband feels a tremendous amount of pressure and guilt, but I don'tunderstand why this particular birthday is so important. He missed his son's birthday last year and I know he wants to make up for that, but this is when our daughter is being born and I feel like that needs to be the main focus right now. I'm living in a foreign country where I don't speak the language, I have no family here aside from my husband, and I need all of his support.