You are here

Help/ Advice

a.marie1900011's picture

Okay so bare with me If this is a little rocky I'm new to this! So I've been with my significant other for almost six months and he has a daughter that's the age of three. I met her one time before hand and it was less then pleasant (I was kinda thrown into it and her mom kinda scared me into thinking I wasn't good enough to be around her daughter). Well I decided to be apart of his visitation today (as I haven't in the past due to my anxiety). I've been referred to as just "dads friend" which kinda hurts a little bit since we've been together for so long..I know it might seem stupid but as someone who sees a future with this man it kinda hurts to just be referenced as dads friend..any advice or ideas..it would be greatly appreciated 

tog redux's picture

6 months is not a super long time to be dating someone, and the child is only 3. She doesn't really understand girlfriend vs friend, so don't worry about titles and just have fun with her.  BUT, you already know that BM is difficult, so try to look past any love-goggles to see how your BF handles BM's jealousy of you, if he sets good boundaries.  Also make sure he's a good parent who takes care of the child himself, and isn't looking for a woman to take over for him.

a.marie1900011's picture

Thank you I just don't want to be silly over nothing. I'm a child who comes from step parenting both from my dad and mom and I was introduced to them completely different but times have changed I just new to this and just dont know what to expect.

GrudgingSM's picture