You are here

Does your DH mistake you not liking BM for insecurity?

HolyShmokey's picture

My DH does...sometimes I feel like I'm losing it. Either I have problems (and no one else does) or something else is going on. Please help and let me know if I'm overreacting.

DH and I have been redecorating the place (he's been divorced for several years from BM. And we have been married for a few years). I told him I didn't like some items in the house and asked if we could replace them... His first thought, since he and BM either found or picked them out together was to ask BM if she wanted them...i'm not talking about nice items either, I'm talking about rocks found during a walk…

They already split things up in their divorce so naturally everything in the house is his or "ours"...I was upset, why bring BM into it? Why once again include her in our life, and offer her something they shared together when they have already moved on?

Is this not weird? I just feel like it's been enough already. This is not the first time this has happened.

I told him I've had enough of this already, and that I just want to be the point where we don't offer her things out of our house anymore because it's something they "shared" together…

Am I being unreasonable?

HolyShmokey's picture

And where I'm coming from, is we have had issues with her in the past. I make this comment to him that it's been enough and let's just move on and apparently I have insecurities....

hereiam's picture

If there were things that she wanted, she would have them by now. Pack that shit up for the dump or the thrift store, whichever applies.

He accuses you of having insecurities, maybe he has a problem with letting go.

HolyShmokey's picture