You are here

So frustrated and stressed out

TinkLight's picture

Hi, I'm completely new at this and not sure if this is the right place to post or be at, but I just need advice or someone to talk to.
To tell a little bit about the background story, my fiance and I have been together for almost 3 years now. I met him after they were already separated for about a year or two. His ex-wife has been crazy the whole time I've known her. Long story short, we're set to be married next year. We've been holding off on telling his son (he's almost 7) because we know the ex-wife will go berzerk. We finally decided to tell him just to get it done and over with before the wedding, so that hopefully the dust will settle and the ex will be done blowing up at us. My fiance (I'm sorry I don't know all the short term letters everyone is using) took his son out for dinner, just the two of them so that his son wouldn't be overwhelmed, and explained everything to him. His son didn't ask many questions about it, but did mention what his mom was saying to him at her place. My fiance did mention that he'd still be his dad, his mom would be his mom, and that *insert my name here* would be *insert my name here*, and that nothing would change. The whole weekend went great and normal. His son played with me as normal (he's pretty attached to me) and slept fine (other than having a cold). Just recently we got messages from the ex that his son is confused about the whole situation, worried, and didn't sleep last night. That he's worried his mom won't be his mom anymore. He was perfectly fine with us, we had a great weekend just being together and playing with his toys in the dirt. I'm not sure if she's saying things to him that is worrying him? I'm so stressed out and frustrated about this, it's affecting both mine and my fiance's health from her constantly accusing us of confusing this child.