You are here

SD acts tortured to be in our house & I take it too personally

NicoleRB's picture
Forums: 

I've been looking through these forums on disengagement because I've decided that's my best option.  I have 2 of my own awesome sons (16 & 12)  and I'm about to marry my fiancé who has 2 of my soon to be SKs a SS(17) & SD(12). SS is a sweet heart to me, & my sons are kind enough and respectful to my fiancé. We have all been living together for 5 years and we are get married this July. My fiancé and I knew each other before & were living in the same community when we had young families & were both married to other people. We both divorced and truly & honestly came together emotionally/physically only after our marriages were over, but our exes likely question this simply because we knew each other as friends before.  We were both in toxic relationships that our exes never took any accountability for because we initiated the divorces.

I'm a school teacher and high school guidance counselor and soccer coach and bottom line is that I love kids. My relationships with kids have always been easy and fun.  I have a lot of skills in interpersonal relationships and child development.  I am a kid counselor! This is why my SD's attitude towards me and our household is so hurtful. I can't seem to fix it or make it improve even incrementally.