You are here

Am I wrong?

Fatherof2dadof4's picture
Forums: 

Hey I've been with my wife for 12 years she had 2 kids when we met. The father was never in the picture a jailbird and drug addict. I raised the kids with her and he never helped with anything never called or bought one gift or anything their whole lives. No christmas no birthdays nothing. I'm a successful business owner she doesn't work we now also have 2 children together so there is 4 kids now. Last year their father died and couldn't believe the things my wife and everyone were saying to the kids telling them he loved them and was always there for them when it's just not true now my stepdaughter is making up these fake memories at this point I started to disengage with her kids and it started creating problems with me and my wife i lost my cool the other day during a fight with her and took to our friends and family for some input on how the hell he was a father to the kids apparently I was wrong for asking the simple question because from where I sit he owes 12 years of support and love to these kids. Am I wrong for disengaging with the kids and am I wrong for telling people he was nothing more than pos sperm donor?

susanm's picture

Have you asked your wife why she is lying to the children and letting other people lie to them?  Obviously it is not a great idea to be trashing him in a age-inappropriate manner but lying to them about who he was is not bright either.  Eventually they will grow up and figure it out and that will cause major trust problems along with the host of "daddy issues."  Why deliberately add things to an already complicated plate?  There are ways to say that "daddy had problems - he could not do things that he wanted to in his life" that work for every age.  Not to mention does not push away the only father they have ever known and potentially threaten to break up their family a second time.  Your wife is not being very smart right now.  Sad

tog redux's picture