You are here

My step children are causing me serious anxiety

Loosing It's picture

HI I am new to this. I have been married to my husband almost two years now. He has two children from a previous marriage ages 11 girl, and 14 boy. I myself was a single parent to my daughter for the first eight years of her life. My daughter has cerebral palsey and epilepsy. Lately it seems the kids are really stressing me out. The 14 year old is a really good kid, smart good at school. But he is the laziest kid I have ever met, and Ive been working with children for 14 years! He recently got all electronics taken away for being on them until 1am. He would get on after we fell asleep. Then he started sneaking his Ipod and lied right to his dads face about it. THis morning I saw he took a pop( he has braces and isn't supposed to drink it) and they are his dads for work. I know he snuck the pop because he knew I was busy with my daughters stretches and wouldn't notice, but I did....I notice EVERYTHING ALL the time! I hate it! Sometimes I just wish I didn't care care so much! So what if he took a pop right? But the fact he planned it around me being busy makes me so angry. He has lost trust with both of us and is supposed to be earning it back but stealing a pop isn't helping. I wish I just never seen it.

frustratedstepdad's picture

Sounds like a normal kid to me. Most kids lie, and most will sneak behind your back to do something they're not supposed to do.

TASHA1983's picture

STILL doesn't make it ok or acceptable!!! Making excuses for that kind of behavior is part of the problem with kids these days!

stepmomsoon's picture

It's that kind of thinking right there that can cause issues..

Yes, normal kids lie, do stuff they aren't supposed to, sneak, etc.

I get that..

However, it doesn't make it ok, nor does it really make it something to stop the world and go nuts about..