You are here

Drop off/pick up time

christiedd's picture

Hi everyone. I'm new to being a step-parent. I have one son and two step children but I'm having issues with the time it takes my husband to drop off/pick up his children at his ex-wife's house. It constantly takes him at least 30 minutes, if not longer, to do this. He claims its the ex's fault but he doesn't tell her has to go/has plans etc....She is a talker but he says he just wants to spend time with his kids too. His son lives fulltime with us and he gets his daughter at least two days a week. I feel he could spend time with his daughter outside of his ex's house. I don't get it but I don't have that kind of relationship with my exhusband. Please help this is being a major issue for us. Thanks..

christiedd's picture

Great idea. His ex tends to be lazy and expects us to pick them up lots of times but I talked to my husband and he said it may work. I might add also that he was there until 9:30 last night & we live 5 mins away. Very frustrating. Thank you for the help.

luchay's picture

MMMm - I'm having this problem too!

My OH's BM lives half hour away, so it's an hour round trip to pick up/drop off.

Last Friday she said to P/U at 4:30, he gets there and they are playing and not even packed yet - 45mins later.....

then when he drops off he has to go in and "settle" them in???? What the! And occasionally listen to them read once they are in bed????? Fuck that! He now listens to them read, and he knows I will be pissy if he takes more than an hour 15 (I allow for traffic and to say goodbye LOL)

My OH does spend significant time with them alone (without me, my DD's or the BM) so that is not the issue here.

Now I just have to get him trained to tell her to make sure they are ready when he gets there!!!

christiedd's picture