You are here

Disengagement

Warwick's picture

Hi everyone.

I'm new here and have seen "disengagement" being offered as advice quite a lot. I think it may help in my situation with my SD (age 6). Can someone explain to me how it works?

I also have 2 bio children that I see part time, so am curious how disengagement would work in this context.

Many thanks.

CLove's picture

Hi Warwick, and welcome. This site has helped me so much in my own situation - and every situation is different. Here is a link to what I call the "Disengagement Manifesto":
http://www.fillingyourniche.com/the-disengaging-essay/

It really will help, depending on your SD6. For me, I had been doing battle with SD17 for more than 2 years. Up until as recently as a few months ago when she completely and totally lost her temper and spewed out vile and ridiculous words. She and I have no problems between us now, but I keep it at "goodbye, hello, goodnight, good morning". That's about it. I do not drive her anywhere, she's with us 50/50, I do not ask her to DO anything (ie clean up her mess from dinner in living room, dishes, her bedroom, etc), that all comes from my SO, and there you have it, in a nutshell!

Being so young, at 6, she is more needy, than my SD17, so your SO will have to shoulder a LOT more, when you disengage. Why are you wanting to disengage, or at least considering it?

Good luck!

Java_Junkie's picture

I got to thinking about this...