You are here

4 yr old SD issues!!! Does it get better or should I just give up?

snmom87's picture

I guess I am looking for some advice or direction from those who have or are experiencing this, or maybe have some knowledge about how to deal with this situation and hopefully make it better.
My 2 year old son and I moved in with my boyfriend about 3 months ago. Before that, I often spent time with him and his three kids, ss9, sd7 and sd4. I always gave him his space around them but they actually liked me and would often ask to ride with me (since we don't fit in either of our cars all together) and even play with me etc. We thought all was dandy, we love each other, even talked about having a child together, and it seemed like we would blend nicely.

He works out of town (his company provides room and food) and only comes home on the weekends, which actually works out schedule wise for me as I am a full time nursing student and spend most of my nights studying or reading. You can imagine my stress level and tolerance is pretty high, going to nursing school and having a very strong-willed 2 yr old. A few weeks after me moving in, SD4 started to turn into a very different child. I now see that this child has some real attention issues, or maybe I am wrong and this is just 4 yr olds?