You are here

A HUGE Thanks from a Childless SP...

1sickandtiredSM's picture

I'm new to StepTalk but have had 2 SD's for 8 years now. I just want to say thank y'all for all the posts on here. It shows me that I'm really not some selfish person who just doesn't understand what it's like to have kids, as my husband makes me feel most of the time when it comes to his kids. They are 19 and 22 now and apparently being a parent to him means allowing them to cause havoc in your home and marriage. I always dreamed of having children of my own but now at the age of 35, I have given up on that because I will not raise children with him. Our parenting perspectives were discussed before marriage and I thought were were in the same place but apparently not. I can not say I would do it over again if given the chance. I love him and I do love his children but I will not live in the craziness they create and I will not stick my head in the sand and pretend that their behavior is acceptable. My story is too long to write on here but thank you again for creating this place where us childless SP's can let loose of some of these feelings and have someone else understand and say "hey you aren't a horrible person".

Dawn-Moderator's picture

I'm glad you are enjoying this forum. Another user suggested that I create a forum for step parents with no bio kids and I thought it was a wonderful idea. I too belong here and understand what you're saying.

Welcome!

lostinbrazil's picture

Yea, this forum has been my saviour seriously and has really helped me get through some extremely tough scenarios that no one else in my life seems to understand.

Want my life back's picture