You are here

UK Newbie

EnglishRose17's picture

Hi everyone,
As a UK mum i am so glad to have found this board, im new to this so i apologise if its all been asked before but i'd really appreciate knowing how other deal with adult step daughters who are attention seeking witches lol..
Briefly ive been with my partner over 3 years, we arent in a position to live together yet though do plan to once my sons left school. I have 2 kids DS 15, DD 20 who are both fine with our r/ship and like my partner, his daughter is 25, married, with a kiddy BUT OMG does she resent me!!!. She even cut me out of wedding photos at a family function. My biggest problem is that her dad, although he sees shes rude, petty etc doesnt want to get caught in the middle, and because he feels "guilty" hes trying to please us both and giving her even more fuel and attention. They are close, she lived with him for a couple of years at 18, (she is close to her BM too who is involved in her life) and she alternates between acting like his wife when im not there and a 6 year old when i am. I know some of it his fault, and she will alwyas be in our lives, but how can i stop it turning me
bitter and stressy whenever shes around or mentioned?.
Theres way more i could mention but dont want to bore you all on my first post.
Look forward to hearing others coping methods
ER xx

Mila851's picture

StepAside - you are very wise (or very well tortured!) Do you have any advice on how it works to accept that you are never going to have a blended family please?

I will not lose any sleep over having zero relationship with my partners horror of a child but how do we play it with each other? And what about family events? I live in fear of funerals or weddings where we will come face to face and she will play the blood card and make me feel a fool for trying to forge a relationship with her father? Though if I say this to him - he tells me I am being stupid.